An easy garden.


My local hardware store was selling wooden boxes with herbs and vegetables planted in them.
But they were pricey and at $40 not going home with me.
The idea was genius though,tomatoes, basil,jalapeno peppers and oregano.

In the place where clutter resides garage I had a rubbermaid tote that was lacking a lid.
I filled it with soil and planted cherry tomatoes, basil, parsley, oregano and a mystery chili pepper.
Watered it and at first it wasn’t giving me a lot of produce but this last week the oregano has gone rogue and the cherry tomatoes are ripening at an alarming speed.

So far we’ve had a salad with the tomatoes and I made pistachio pesto.
This garden does need mostly sun, I estimate it has sun for at least 6 hours.
What I did not do, and must soon, is drill a hole or two in the bottom for drainage.
Himself hasn’t told me where he hides the power tools in the garage.
He says we have one but is probably unable to find it among the boxes that need saving.

Pistachio Pesto
Traditionally pesto is made with pine nuts. About a year ago I developed a terrible taste every time I ate something.
Everything tasted bitter.
Going over the food for the last days I googled some of my foods and finally did a search for “pine nuts bitter taste” and top of the search revealed 2 pages of links and the culprit being pine nuts indeed.
Apparently the pine-nuts I bought were from China and not really pine-nuts as we know them.

http://chowhound.chow.com/topics/614646

Since then I’ve been making pesto with nuts such as walnuts and pistachio’s.
I find the latter to work the best for flavor.

Here is the recipe, enjoy!

20 pistachio’s (it’s easier if they are shelled obviously)
2/3 cup good olive oil
2-3 cloves garlic
8-10 big basil leaves, or in my case 15 small
parmesan cheese (optional if you are dairy free)

Pistachios and half of the olive oil in the food processor until pistachio’s are almost ground (I’ve got one of those $10 small ones that work pretty good)
Add basil,garlic, salt and pepper to taste and rest of the olive oil. Mix until smooth.
If you want a thinner pesto drizzle some more olive oil in the food processor and mix well.
I either use this for pasta or with fish.
We had grilled salmon and it was pretty tasty!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 655 other followers

