How about spices?


I have a lot of spices, I’m a spice hoarder I guess.

Besides the usual, salt and pepper the question stands: do you need to go out and buy the spices you might normally not use on a regular basis?

Spices only keep so long unless you know you’ll be using say, tarragon, at least 4-5 times a month it’s probably not worth buying a large bottle.
I have saffron, there are so many uses for it to counter act the pricy-ness of it.
I have put a little bit on top of my mac and cheese, it gives it a bit of a kick.
But then again I tend to pick recipes that I know I have the spices for and because I do cook a bit outside the lines I do have the more “exotic” spices.

If you are planning to cook more of my foods then at first I’d suggest buying the smaller versions of things like tarragon, smoked paprika or the other spices I use.
With the shelf life of things like dried parsley and cilantro, definitely buy small.
You should cook with vibrant green herbs like that, not the grey kind.

To be honest I rarely toss spices, unless they caked/smell funky or of the grey kind.

I told you I’m a hoarder of spices.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 656 other followers

