And we’re back.


A brief hiatus because of the hacked account happened but I’m glad to let you know nothing got damaged beyond the email address which is now locked.

Moving on then!
I tried a new recipe and it’s so tasty I had it for dinner and lunch!

Years ago I went low-carb for quite a few years, my blood sugars were doing roller-coasters ride, up and down etc. I liked low-carb but went off it last April because I was thinking it would be more convenient to eat in moderation. Yah, Right!

After the holidays I felt a bit blah and we all have the good intentions right after the New Year so I’m no exception. I dropped all wheat products and started eating smaller portions.

The blog has always been lower-carb anyway but I want to add some dishes that can be adapted towards low-carb. I’m no expert on the matter but it’s safe to say not to make my dishes if you are on Induction with either Atkins,South Beach or any other diet that has you “clean up” first.

Eggplant Lasagna

1 medium eggplant, cut in thin slices
.5 pound ground beef (or chicken)
.5 pound sausage meat (mild Italian or other)
6 ounces of mushrooms
pasta sauce
(we use Newman’s Own, make sure whatever you pick has NO sugar in it or corn syrup)
1 egg
6 ounces Ricotta cheese
cup mozzarella cheese
butter
salt for the eggplant

Cut the eggplant in thin slices, you can cut lengthwise to get more of the “noodle” look.
Place on a paper towel in a single layer and sprinkle with salt.
Preheat the oven to 375 F.
Brown the sausage and beef in 2 tbs butter, break up the sausage as much as possible.
drain fat, add mushrooms and pasta sauce.
mix well.
mix ricotta with the egg and set aside.

Layer a ovenproof dish as follows:
Meat sauce
Eggplant in a single layer
ricotta
meat sauce
eggplant
meat sauce
sprinkle with mozzerella

You can make on layer or two, it depends on the size of the pan. Deep would be two layers, shallow one because the sauce tends to bubble a bit.

Cover with aluminum foil and cook covered in oven for 45 minutes, take foil off and let cook for 10 more minutes.
The sauce will bubble, if it doesn’t let cook for 15 minutes extra instead.
Let stand for 5 minutes

Cut in squares with a sharp knife.

Enjoy!

20120121-124836.jpg

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. filingawaycupcakes
    Jan 22, 2012 @ 00:50:43

    Oh my, I made one tonight! Yours looks amazing though. I think I’ll go find leftovers now:]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 655 other followers

