With a little help from my son.


While driving home today I let my mind wander about a new recipe. I had bought a basil plant that was wilting and in need of using and I had an avocado that needed to be eaten soon.
How could I use both in a pasta dish?
I love to think in flavors and colors so I imagined what it would be like if I made pesto the traditional way but incorporated the avocado.
I picked up The Boy and we went to the store, we brainstormed and decided to go for it.

I like the kid, a lot.

Pasta with avocado pesto

4 ounces of shrimp per person
1 avocado
1 cup basil leaves loosely packed
1/4 cup and 2 tbs olive oil
2 tbs pine nuts or walnuts
1/4 cup parmesan cheese
1-2 cloves garlic
salt and pepper to taste

In a food processor combine basil, garlic, cheese and pine nuts. If you are using walnuts grind them by themselves without the basil, cheese and garlic first
Add half of the olive oil and mix, add the remainder of the olive and mix some more
Cut avocado in small pieces and add to food processor and mix until smooth.
Cook chosen pasta per package instruction
Peel and rinse shrimp and saute it in olive oil ( 2 tbs)
I used some of the pesto to flavor it while sautéing.
Drain liquid from shrimp before adding to pasta!
When everything is cooked take a mixing bowl and add pasta, sauce and shrimp and mix well. Transfer to a bowl.
Grate parmesan cheese over the pasta.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 655 other followers

